Title: Dead at First Sight
Author: Peter James
Published by Pan Macmillan
RRP: $29.99

I usually read far more young adult and children’s novels than adult novels, but this year I have read quite a few adult novels and have loved them! This novel, by Peter James, is riveting, and it could be so true. This is about internet fraud, fraudulent dating websites, and stolen identity. John Fordwater is waiting at the airport for his internet girlfriend to arrive. He has the champagne ready, having already sent hundreds of pounds to her. This is the first of many cases of lost money, and in fact lost lives, linked to internet dating. When women begin to die, and young man is attacked after finding out his identity has been stolen, the web becomes intricate and intense as Detective Superintendent Roy Grace tries to unravel it all.

This book is so realistic it is scary. It is fast paced and kept me up on many nights, I was unable to put it down. Setting, characterisation and dialogue are all perfectly done. I really felt for those who had been conned, James explores the feelings of loneliness and needing love very well. He even touches on the reasons why those committing the fraud do it, not to justify their actions, but to show all perspectives.

This is the first Roy Grace detective novel I have read, but I am keen to read the others. I did not feel I needed to read the previous novels in the series, although characters from previous novels are obviously included. This is the sign of a good writer, in my opinion, when a book in a series can stand alone by itself.

Many thank to Pan Macmillan Australia for sending the book for review.